About Us

The North Queensland Land Council (NQLC) is recognised as a Native Title Representative Body (NTRB) under section 203AD of the Native Title Act 1993 (NTA). The NQLC representative area extends from the Daintree and 4km north west of the Bloomfield Rivers in the east to just south-east of Ilbilibie and just west of Hayden and east to include the waters that are within the Exclusive Economic Zone of Australia. The land and waters of the NQLC is approximately 943,300 km2, with approximately 411,164 km2 of this being land.nqlc_map2.png

The region includes the local government authorities of Bowen Shire Council, Burdekin Shire Council, Cairns Regional Council, Cassowary Coast Regional Council, Charters Towers Regional Council, Croydon Shire Council, Etheridge Shire Council, Flinders Shire Council, Hinchinbrook Shire Council, Isaac Regional Council, Mackay Regional Council, McKinlay Shire Council, Palm Island Aboriginal Shire Council, Richmond Shire Council, Tablelands Regional Council, Townsville
City Council and Yarrabah Aboriginal Shire Council.

The region is as diverse in its landscapes as it is in its culture, from the marine environment of the Great Barrier Reef to the coastal and upland to the western areas which covers seven (7) bioregions on land. These bioregions include the Central Queensland Coast, Brigalow Belt and Wet Tropics of the coastal and upland areas, then the Einasleigh Uplands and Desert Uplands to out west to the Mitchell Grass Downs and the Savannah Gulf Plains.

There is a major concentration of Indigenous population on the coast that becomes less dense as you move westwards. The region contains two (2) large Deed of Grant in Trust (DOGIT) communities governed by Yarrabah and Palm Island Aboriginal Shire Councils. There are also major Indigenous populations in Townsville/Thuringowa, Cairns, Mackay, Innisfail,
Mareeba, Burdekin, Charters Towers, Mossman, Bowen, Atherton, Sarina, Ingham, Tully, Cardwell,
Richmond, Nebo/Mirani, Herberton, Ravenshoe, Kuranda, Mount Garnet, Croydon, and the Jumbun

As a recognised NTRB, the NQLC has the following statutory functions under the NTA: